This will help not to clog up the space in the phone’s memory.
Photos and videos will disappear immediately after viewing and will be marked with the “Open” icon. Such files will not remain in the phone’s memory, and other users will not be able to forward or save them.
If you don’t open the file within two weeks, it will be deleted automatically. At the same time, the company noted that another user can take a screenshot or photo of another screen, so the function will not be able to fully protect against data leaks.
WhatsApp noted that many people are used to taking photos and videos on their phone, but not everything should be saved forever. In addition, media files take up space in the phone’s memory.
The new feature will appear before the end of the week for all users of mobile applications.